National Symphony Orchestra

Imperial Square, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, GL50 1QA

symphony orchestra
symphony orchestra


ConductorRimma Sushanskaya PianoJohn LenehanTchaikovsky Fantasy Overture, Romeo & JulietShostakovich Piano Concerto No.1 in C minor, Op.35Tchaikovsky Symphony No.5 in E minor, Op.64Tchaikovsky features heavily again in another evening of Russian passion and romance. Shostakovich's first piano concerto, which also features some lively, prominent and humurous playing for solo trumpet, was the composer's attempt at a neo-Baroque piece, and it forms the filling between two more Tchaikovsky landmarks - the sublime Romeo & Juliet Overture, depicting the tragic lovers' journey as melodically and passionately more than any other composer's attempt, and the gorgeous 5th Symphony, composed in just 3 months in 1888, and dominated by its cyclical and hugely popular main theme. Another feast of Russia to enjoy!Pre-Concert Talk (6.30pm to 7pm): Free entry using the ticket for the concert.Please note there is a £2 ticket commission fee included in the price of the ticket.


There are no comments yet, be the first!

New Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Need directions?

Hotels Nearby